Erasmus Mobility

Erasmus+ is the EU’s programme to support education, training, youth and sport in Europe. The Erasmus programme was launched in June 1987 and it is one of the best-known Community actions and addresses the teaching and learning needs of all those in formal higher education and vocational education and training at tertiary level.

It has an estimated budget of €26.2 billion in the period 2021-2027.

The 2021-2027 programme places a strong focus on social inclusion, the green and digital transitions, and promoting young people’s participation in democratic life.

The University of Rijeka joined this program in 2009 and has since signed over 800 bilateral Erasmus agreements with universities from most of the countries in the Erasmus programme. This co-operation includes student and staff exchanges. In fifteen academic years, more than 2600 students and 1100 staff members of the University of Rijeka have participated in Erasmus. Since 2011, the university has welcomed more than 3000 incoming students and 1100 incoming staff members.

Student mobility and the academic recognition that comes with it are considered necessary prerequisites for an open and dynamic European educational area that will facilitate European integration and labour market mobility. The University of Rijeka promotes and facilitates student mobility through the Erasmus programme.

Students from universities that have signed the bilateral Erasmus agreement with the University of Rijeka can study at our university for one or two semesters.

Please note that incoming Erasmus students must be officially nominated by their home Erasmus coordinator. After being nominated for the Erasmus exchange, Erasmus students should upload the application form and all relevant documents to the UNIRI Erasmus application form database (see instructions under Incoming Erasmus students).

Nomination procedure:
Check the instructions for incoming Erasmus students.

Nomination deadlines:
1st June for the winter semester/whole academic year
1st November for the summer semester

Application deadlines:
10th June for the winter semester/whole academic year
10th November for the summer semester

Academic calendar:
1st semester (winter): beginning of October – end of January
2nd semester (summer): beginning of March – end of June
Examination period: February, end of June, beginning of July

Erasmus code: HR RIJEKA01
Erasmus University Charter
Erasmus Policy Statement
Erasmus Key Data 2024


Useful information


International Mobility Centre / Erasmus

Location: Ulica Radmile Matejčić 3, 51000 Rijeka

Regular mail address:
Rector’s Office / International Mobility Centre
University of Rijeka
Trg braće Mažuranića 10
51000 Rijeka

Erasmus Coordinator and Centre Head Maša Šašinka, M. Sc.


+38551 584 840

Head of incoming student and staff mobility, Marijana Tomić Marinović, M. Sc.


+38551 584 843

Head of non-EU and outgoing staff mobilities, Brigita Gašparović, M. Sc.


+38551 584 841

Head of IIAs and outgoing student mobility, Patrizia Pelčić, M. Sc.


+38551 584 842

Head of BIP programs, YUFE and degree students, Matea Lozančić, univ. spec. oec.


+38551 584 844

Skip to content