Gender Equality Council

The Gender Equality Council of the University of Rijeka is a representative body of the University whose purpose is institutional monitoring and contribution to gender equality at the University of Rijeka and the wider community. The University of Rijeka Senate established the Council on July 20, 2021.

The Council consists of representatives from the ranks of University constituents (faculties), students/Student Union, and other University staff who can contribute to the work of the Council through their scope of work or involvement, based on the appointment of their home institutions.

The first composition of the Council:

  1. Assoc. Prof. Romina Alkier, Ph.D., Faculty of Tourism and Hospitality Management
  2. Prof. Sanja Barić, Ph.D., Rector’s Assistant for Institutional Capacities and Policies, President
  3. Assoc. Prof. Sanja Bojanić, Ph.D., Academy of Applied Arts
  4. Assist. Prof. Sanda Bujačić Babić, Ph.D., Faculty of Mathematics
  5. Bruno Valpotić, Student Council of the University of Rijeka
  6. Prof. Aleksandra Deluka Tibljaš, Ph.D., Faculty of Civil Engineering
  7. Assist. Prof. Ivna Kavre Piltaver, Ph.D., Faculty of Physics
  8. Katarina Pavičić Ivelja, M.Ed.Phil. and Philol., Faculty of Engineering
  9. Prof. Mirano Hess, Ph.D., Faculty of Maritime Studies
  10. Assist. Prof. Lucija Jančec, Ph.D., Faculty of Teacher Education
  11. Prof. Dubravka Jurišić Eržen, M.D., Ph.D., Faculty of Medicine
  12. Assoc. Prof. Davor Kuiš, DMD, Ph.D., Faculty of Dental Medicine
  13. Assoc. Prof. Nela Malatesti, Ph.D., Department of Biotechnology
  14. Assist. Prof. Brigita Miloš, Ph.D., Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  15. Prof. Emilia Mišćenić, Ph.D., Faculty of Law
  16. Assist. Prof. Lucija Načinović Prskalo, Ph.D., Faculty of Informatics and Digital Technologies
  17. Snježana Pantoš, M.Econ., University Library Rijeka
  18. Assist. Prof. Ana Marija Sikirić Simčić, Ph.D., Faculty of Economics and Business
  19. Neven Tamarut, MBA, STEPRI Science and Technology Park of the University of Rijeka
  20. Sanda Tamarut, M.Sc., Faculty of Health Studies
  21. Adelina Zahirović, Student Center Rijeka 

The following participate in the Council’s work as necessary:

  1. Prof. Snježana Prijić Samaržija, Ph.D., Head of the SPEAR project
  2. Daria Glavan Šćulac, LLM, UNIRI Rectorate
  3. Matija Miloš, Ph.D., Faculty of Law
  4. Ana Tomaško Obradović, UNIRI Rectorate

The Council can, if necessary, include representatives of non-governmental organizations, experts from related fields in its work.

The Council’s scope of work includes:

  • implementation of individual measures provided by the Gender Equality Plan at the University and coordination of the implementation of the Plan at the University constituents;
  • promoting the content and importance of gender equality, with special emphasis on the gender perspective in research, learning, and teaching and on underrepresented areas in study and work.



Gender Equality Council of the University of Rijeka

Trg braće Mažuranića 10, HR-51000 Rijeka

Administrator: Nika Drljačić


+385 (0)51 406 514

Skip to content